Francesco Durante - Requiem

Composers: Durante
Released: 2016
Label: Coro
Code: COR16147 CORO 2016


In an exciting new collaboration, Christ Church Cathedral Choir joins forces with soloists from The Sixteen and Oxford Baroque on this new recording of Francesco Durante’s Requiem Mass in C minor.

Despite its enduring popularity in the 18th century this beautiful and majestic work was never published but survives through over 50 manuscript copies scattered across Europe. It is a remarkable work which can justly be described as one of the most important orchestral Requiem settings of the 18th century. This is the premiere recording of Stephen Darlington’s new edition of the work which shows Durante to be a composer of considerable skill and invention, who combined his mastery of counterpoint with an elegance of melody, a richness of harmony and an imaginative instinct for structure.

This album also features Durante’s exquisite Organ Concerto in B flat major – a rare example of an Italian keyboard concerto of the period – performed here by celebrated organist, Clive Driskill-Smith.

Christ Church Cathedral Choir
Soloists from The Sixteen
Oxford Baroque
Clive Driskell-Smith – Organ
Stephen Darlington – Conductor


Francesco Durante (1684-1755)

Requiem Mass in C minor
1. Introitus. Requiem – Kyrie
2. Graduale. Requiem – Tractus
3. Sequentia. Dies irae
4. Sequentia. Tuba mirum
5. Sequentia. Mors stupebit
6. Sequentia. Quid sum miser
7. Sequentia. Recordare
8. Sequentia. Quaerens me
9. Sequentia. Ingemisco
10. Sequentia. Lacrimosa
11. Offertorium. Domine Jesu
12. Offertorium. Hostias
13. Sanctus – Osanna
14. Benedictus – Osanna
15. Agnus Dei
16. Communio
17. Libera me. Libera me (i)
18. Libera me. Dies illa
19. Libera me. Requiem aeternam
20. Libera me. Libera me (ii)
21. Responsorium

Organ Concerto in B flat major
22. Allegro
23. Grave
24. Allegro

Total playing time: 63.27